April training

Usual format, stay out of the way first;

Swim

Count – 4

Distance – 6.45 miles

Time – 3:39:28 hh:mm:ss

Bike

Count – 13

Distance – 566 miles

Time – 33:19:55 hh:mm:ss

Run

Count – 11

Distance – 97 miles

Time – 13:41:41 hh:mm:ss

Total hours – 50:41

  

Another consistent training month for me hitting 50 hours again. 

Swim

Not much swimming this month in the grand scheme of things but pretty standard 1 per week for me.

Looking back over my garmin stats none of the 4 really stand out, a couple of interval sessions and 1 long straight 4k where I went through IM distance in about 1:12, so pleased with that as not pushing the pace and it was in a pool so bang on track. Had a brief crack at my 100m PB again which still stands at 1:29:xx, managed 1:31:xx  so not quite but swimming is in a good place.

Bike

Decent mileage again this month and a couple of rides stand out, headed over the Peak District for some hills in the sunshine which was amazing, beautiful scenery, no cars and some big hills😀

 
Earlier on in the months I got my race wheels and aero lid on for the first time so went out in good conditions for a time trial to test out how I did, pleased with my tune and bike is in a good place at the moment.

  

The only thing lacking in training on the bike this time is century rides. I wanted to do some but it’s not worked out time wise. I am confident for the distance as I’ve done loads of 70’s and 80’s and I’m comfortable that I don’t need the confidence boost you get from doing them. All in all I’m good.

Run

Not much to report here, a few long runs, a few medium runs, mileage just under 100 for the month so on track. I have had a few runs this month when I have properly felt in the zone. Just ticking along at an easy pace but really feeling effortless as I run. Hopefully that will be the case when the big race arrives but who knows.

Overall I am pleased I have done the training I have done this year to date. A few weeks ago I thought I would be worried now if I hadn’t put in the time so for that I am really pleased. I know I am ready to go now and training sessions now are just keeping me ticking over until race day. I’m feeling focussed and looking forward to some warm weather sessions in Mallorca over this weekend. I will be publishing a separate race report for my Pirate DIY half ironman I did last weekend which was great fun.

A quick end note to acknowledge a Twitter friend who tragically at a young age lost his life earlier this month, Tom (@beadytriguy) was training for Ironman Lanzarote and we had followed each other’s progress, I was looking forward to meeting Tom out on the island. A horrible reminder of how precious life is and how it can be taken from us without warning.

I will be raising a glass to you out there mate, much love xxx


Leave a comment